Let’s Talk Chakras

Sometimes the yogi world can seem a little left of centre. The world of chakras, meditation, and essential oils. But when you allow yourself to dive right in, you learn that all of these things have real life application. And can make a huge impact to our everyday lives. The chakra system is certainly one of those things. With our upcoming chakra balancing workshop, we thought we’d give you an insight.

So what are the chakras?

The Chakras are seven energy systems in the body. One way to think of them is seven spinning wheels, located along the spine, from the tailbone all the way to the crown of the head. They have different energies and qualities to them. The first three are more about our physical experience and as we move to the heart and above we start to get into spiritual territory. Each of the chakras can impact our lives very differently depending on whether they’re in balance or out of balance. Let’s take a quick look at what that can look like.

The Root Chakra or Muladhara

 The root chakra is the first chakra in the body. Found at the base of the spine, it’s our connection to our physical body. It’s all about safety and physical security. Think food, money, water, shelter, love, and sex. The things our physical body needs to survive and thrive. When in balance we are grounded and secure. When this chakra is out of balance we can be plagued by fear and anxieties, issues with eating, and we can often have a lack of focus on finances, responsibility, and grounding.

Sacral Chakra or Svadhisthana

The second chakra, our sacral chakra is located just below the belly button. It’s all about pleasure, fun, and the inner child. It’s about feeling and experiencing. This natural drive is often closed off as we’re told that we should be more sensible and reserved. When in balance we are connected to our desires and creativity and comfortable expressing them. When this space is out of balance we can lose touch with our wants and desires in regards to sex, child-like pleasure, and fun.

Solar Plexus Chakra or Manipura

The solar plexus chakra is all about identity, ego, willpower, and knowing your own self. This is about our perception of who we are. When this is balanced we are confident, reliable, responsible, in touch with who we are, and confident in that. Self-judgment and criticism weaken the power of this chakra, while self-love and compassion strengthens it.

Heart Chakra or Anahata

 Located at the heart space, or the centre of your chest, it’s no surprise this chakra is all about love, compassion, and acceptance. And warmth and joy. Our heart chakra is also the connection between the first three more earthly chakras and the top three more spiritual centres in the body. When the heart chakra is balanced love flows freely to others but also to yourself.

Throat Chakra – Visuddha

Our throat chakra has a lot to do with expression, truthfulness in both thought and speech, as well as accepting who you are and what you believe in. While the trouble with this chakra is often negative self-talk, when balanced we can truly believe in our abilities and feel comfortable sharing them openly. It also addresses to our ability to listen fully. Integrity and truthfulness are a big part of this chakra.

Third Eye Chakra – Ajna

Our third eye chakra is all about seeing and knowing. Both the inside world of ourselves and the outside world. It’s a space of knowing and intuition. When this chakra is in balance you have a strong gut feeling and can trust in that. You also have a deeper understanding and wisdom about the world around you. When we are out of balance with an underactive third eye we lack connection to the spiritual world, we lack clarity and can feel stuck in the daily grind. When we are overactive in this space, however, we can experience lots of fantasies that feel very real. And tend to indulge in these fantasies a little too much.

Crown Charka or Sahasrara

The final chakra in the body connects us to the universe or the divine. Found at the crown of the head it’s about an understanding that everything is connected. It’s not about thought but about joy, peace, and serenity.

Balancing the chakras

There are so many tools and activities that help us balance the chakras. From meditation to sound, all the way to movement and yoga. Join us for our workshop that will balance these chakras through movement, meditation, and the power of Aura-Soma®.

Chakra Balancing + Mediation with Erin

Friday 21 April 6.30pm – 8pm
Investment $45 or $40 for Tribe Members
Book now

No Comments

Post A Comment

  • Find a class + book your mat


  • Subscribe to get the Warrior One Yoga email newsletter

    "*" indicates required fields

    This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.